Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

New Music Wrap Up: Emily Hatton, Andrew Swift, The Hello Darlins and more!

11 June 2021 | 3:43 pm | Mallory Arbour

From Emily Hatton to BRELAND and Keith Urban, The Hello Darlins and Andrew Swift and many more, here’s a wrap up of new releases in country music!

More Jayne Denham More Jayne Denham

As well as the featured new releases from Blake Dantier, Hurricane Fall, Orville Peck, Lucy Parle, Dakota East and our Artist of the Week The Prairie States, there’s a handful of artists we’re still keen to share! From Emily Hatton to BRELAND and Keith Urban, The Hello Darlins and Andrew Swift and many more, so whether you're looking to wind down after a long week, party up a storm or celebrate getting out of lockdown (I'm looking at you, Melbourne), here’s a wrap up of new releases in country music!  

Jasmine Atkins

With her last two singles being nominated for WA Country Music Awards and winning 2020 'Single of the Year', WA artist, Jasmine Atkins, is back with a brand-new single, Long After You’re Gone. Co-written with now Nashville-based, Troy Kemp, Long After You’re Gone focuses on reliving those first date feelings of butterflies, all night conversations and first kisses. Now a CMAA Academy of Country Music graduate (2015), Atkins has relocated to NSW as she pursues her dreams in music.

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

BRELAND and Keith Urban

BRELAND and Keith Urban have released their new collaborative single, Throw It Back. Throwing down a rootsy blast of dance-floor fire, the track finds the two artists partnering for a second time on the banjo-laced banger with a love-drunk theme. Matching BRELAND’s sheer boldness and dynamic flow with Urban’s effortless charisma and string-bending prowess, Throw It Back makes for a true country anthem.

Siobhan Cotchin

Ahead of a national tour supporting Bob Evans, WA alt-country singer-songwriter Siobhan Cotchin shares her new single Highway Song, which, with her signature raw songwriting, is about trying to drive away from your problems or move on from something or someone that has hurt you. With a writing style that echoes the effortless musing of Lucinda Williams, Highway Song follows on from her WAM 'Song Of The Year' nominated single, The Fair-Weather Friend Blues, with jangly luminous melodies hovering over stories of introspective self-discovery.

Jayne Denham

The brand-new single Raggedy Ann, from three-time Golden Guitar nominee, Jayne Denham's forthcoming album Wanted, is current and fresh in style, while harking back to a bygone age. The track started out as nothing more than a title and the concept of a tough, Wild West gun-slinger chick, however, the album's producers, GRAMMY-nominated and No.1 USA hit songwriters Brian White and Brian Bunn loved the idea from the minute it was pitched, and the song was born.

Tyler Farr

Tyler Farr has released his latest track, Cover Girl. The powerful song brings attention to the often under-reported and traumatising issue of domestic violence which affects millions of people annually. Written by Farr, Blake Bollinger, and Ben Stennis, Cover Girl, takes a stand for anyone caught in an abusive situation and delivers a message of empowerment and hope to encourage those suffering any form abuse to find the strength to seek out help. 

Emily Hatton

Melbourne-based singer-songwriter Emily Hatton has dropped her self-titled EP, which features the single Make It Slow – which we premiered here. From innocence, blind trust, and romanticism, moving through confusion, to daring, sass, and assertiveness, there’s a song for every emotion included on the six-track EP. However, the main messages Hatton wants people to take away from her songs, all run along the same theme – there’s always light to be found. 

The Hello Darlins

Canada’s The Hello Darlins have released their highly anticipated full-length debut album Go By Feel. The album is a hybrid of country, gospel, and blues, and features the heart-wrenching ballads Aberdeen and Prayer For A Sparrow to the classic country-rocker Mountain Time and the title track. Global interest in The Hello Darlins began building almost immediately after the Calgary, Alberta-based Americana collective debuted on the scene in early 2020.

Troy Kemp

Troy Kemp's new single, Needles On The Vinyl is a colourful journey back to life before the Internet. To a time when we had dial up telephones with curly chords on the wall, road maps that we unfolded in the car, when deals were done on a handshake, when marriage lasted forever, when kids grew up playing outside, when friendships were forged face-to-face and when that beautiful crackling sound of a needle dropping on a vinyl record was how we listened to our music.

Kidd G

Amassing over 100 million streams and drawing praise from Billboard and more, fast-rising country star Kidd G shares a new break up anthem entitled Break Up Song, written by Kidd G, Rhett Akins, and JT Harding. In October 2020, the teenager’s single Dirt Road hit No. 40 on Hot Country Songs from streaming numbers alone, virtually unheard of for that chart which usually favours radio hits.

Felicity Kircher

Felicity Kircher’s debut album, … the story so far is out now and contains eight personal tracks. The 16-year-old multi-award-winning singer is also a multi-instrumentalist who plays violin, guitar and piano and has performed with Casey Barnes and Troy Cassar-Daley, and her expressive, honest, and genuine story telling ability through her songs, touches people’s hearts wherever she goes.

Alanis Morissette and Willie Nelson

To coincide with the announcement of her 2021-2022 world tour to celebrate 25 years of her debut album, Jagged Little Pill, Alanis Morissette has teamed with Willie Nelson on a new duet of his song On The Road Again. Since 1995, Morissette has been one of the most influential singer-songwriter-musicians in contemporary music, having released ten eclectic and acclaimed albums. Most recently, she released her ninth studio album, Such Pretty Forks In The Road, to rave reviews.

Shane Nicholson

Australian roots/country/folk artist and producer, Shane Nicholson’s new track is Life Ain’t Fine is the second release off his upcoming new album, which also features the single, Harvest On Vinyl. Shane has recorded 10 studio albums and has received three ARIA awards – for his solo album Hell Breaks Loose in 2015 and for his hit collaborations with Kasey Chambers. In total, he has won 11 CMAA Golden Guitar Awards, including the 2021 'Song of the Year' for The High Price of Surviving and two APRA awards.

Billie-Jo Porter

Billie-Jo Porter’s sunny debut release, Feels Like Us is an upbeat, heart-warming love song co-written with Andrew Blyth at the Dag Sheep Station Songwriters Retreat and produced by Shane Nicholson at The Sound Hole studios on the Central Coast. Porter also co-wrote Head Full Of Honey with Andrew Swift and has supported artists including Kevin Bennett, Hussy Hicks, Gretta Ziller and Riley Catherall.

Andrew Swift

Finding improbable beauty in the more difficult aspects of love – transcendent moments of bliss giving way to over whelming confusion, disappointment, and loss – Andrew Swift delivers a stunning document of heartache with expansive new sophomore album The Art of Letting Go, which features his singles Never Meant To Break Your Heart, Right On Down, Head Full Of Honey and Say The Word with Cass Hopetoun.

Zac Brown Band

Same Boat is the newest single from multi-platinum, GRAMMY Award-winning Zac Brown Band is out today. Front man Zac Brown penned the uplifting tune with Ben Simonetti and Jonathan Singleton. The song was recorded at the renowned Southern Ground Nashville studio and features contributions from the entire band, with melodic vocal harmonies, brisk percussion, and the lively violin.

For more great content, check out our other features here.

Image: Supplied