Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Taylor Swift announces Red (Taylor’s Version) will include nine new songs

12 August 2021 | 11:37 am | Mallory Arbour

Taylor Swift ’s 2012 album, Red is the second to be released in its re-recorded version and will include nine never before released songs from the vault.

More Taylor Swift More Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift’s fourth studio album, Red is the second to be released in its re-recorded version. Titled Red (Taylor’s Version), the album will include nine never before released songs from the vault, bringing the total track listing to 30.

Swift wrote on social media, “The next album that I’ll be releasing is my version of Red, which will be out on November 19. This will be the first time you hear all 30 songs that were meant to go on Red. And hey, one of them is even ten minutes long.”

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

Just like her hidden messages in her lyric notes as well as her music videos, the 31-year-old dropped a coded video message for all the bonus songs that will be featured on the album. As Swift noted herself, the difficulty level is "casually cruel in the name of being honest."

As previously teased, we'll be getting the 10-minute version of All Too Well and the re-recorded version of her charity ballad Ronan, but we'll also be getting Swift's solo versions of Babe and Better Man, which were released by Sugarland and Little Big Town, respectively. In addition to collaborations with Chris Stapleton and Phoebe Bridgers, there will also be a new song with Ed Sheeran; Sheeran is already featured on Everything Has Changed from the album.

The original Red album was released in 2012 and featured seven singles, four of which peaked inside the top 10 of the US Billboard Hot 100: the lead single We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together topped the chart, whereas Begin Again, I Knew You Were Trouble, and Red reached numbers eight, two, and six, respectively. The album expanded her artistry beyond her previous country-pop style, and combined pop, country, rock, folk and electronic elements.

The album's title refers to what Swift described as the tumultuous "red" emotions that were evoked from the unhealthy romance she was experiencing during the album's conception.

Swift says, “Musically and lyrically, Red resembled a heartbroken person. It was all over the place, a fractured mosaic of feelings that somehow all fit together in the end. Happy, free, confused, lonely, devastated, euphoric, wild, and tortured by memories past. Like trying on pieces of a new life, I went into the studio and experimented with different sounds and collaborators. And I'm not sure if it was pouring my thoughts into this album, hearing thousands of your voices sing the lyrics back to me in passionate solidarity, or if it was simply time, but something was healed along the way.”

Swift first announced her intention to re-record her first six albums – released between 2006 and 2017 – in 2019 in an attempt to own the masters to her original music amid her ongoing battle with Scooter Braun. She began re-recording her back catalogue last November.

The previously unreleased track Mr. Perfectly Fine (Taylor’s Version) from the album, Fearless (Taylor’s Version) currently sits at #40 on the Countrytown Music Network Hot 50 chart. Furthermore, the album achieved critical and commercial success and debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 charts as the first re-recorded album in history to top the chart.

Last month, Swift announced she would not be submitting Fearless (Taylor’s Version) for a Grammy or CMA 2022 Award consideration. A representative from her current label shared with Billboard that the album will not be placed in the running for any more awards.

“After careful consideration, Taylor Swift will not be submitting Fearless (Taylor’s Version) in any category at this year’s upcoming Grammy and CMA Awards,” said a Republic Records representative. “Fearless has already won four Grammys including album of the year, as well as the CMA Award for album of the year in 2009/2010 and remains the most awarded country album of all time.”

Swift will still be submitting her 2020 album, evermore to the Grammys, to be in eligible in all awards categories so that voters are able to focus on just the one album and not be divided between two of her projects which would essentially be competing against each other.

The nine bonus tracks of Red (Taylor's Version) are as follows, in the order they appear on the track list:

21. "Ronan"
22. "Better Man"
23. "Nothing New," featuring Phoebe Bridgers
24. "Babe"
25. "Message in a Bottle"
26. "I Bet You Think About Me," featuring Chris Stapleton
27. "Forever Winter"
28. "Run," featuring Ed Sheeran
29. "The Very First Night"
30. "All Too Well" 10-minute version

Keep up to date with Taylor Swift via her Facebook page here.

For more breaking news from CountryTown, check out here.

Image: via Twitter