Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Felicity Urquhart, James Johnston & Travis Collins Among Nominees At 2024 Golden Guitar Awards

21 November 2023 | 12:57 pm | Ellie Robinson

Next year’s ceremony will take place at the Tamworth Country Music Festival on January 27.

Felicity Urquhart / James Johnston / Travis Collins

Felicity Urquhart / James Johnston / Travis Collins (Supplied)

The nominees for next year’s Country Music Awards of Australia – aka the Golden Guitar Awards – have just been announced, with acts like James Johnston, The Wolfe Brothers, Travis Collins, and the inimitable duo of Felicity Urquhart and Josh Cunningham up for the most awards.

They’ve each received six respective nominations, while one of the biggest-winning duos from this year’s ceremony, Brooke McClymont and Adam Eckersley, are up for five: Song Of The Year (for Country Music, You And Beer), Single Of The Year (for What Are You Waiting For), both Contemporary Country Album Of The Year and the all-inclusive Album Of The Year (for Up, Down & Sideways) and Group Or Duo Of The Year.

Urquhart and Cunningham are also up for the latter two awards – earning their Album Of The Year nod with Birdsong – as well as Traditional Country Album Of The Year (also with Birdsong) and three separate nominations earned at the hand of their single Size Up: Song Of The Year, Single Of The Year and Video Of The Year.

Meanwhile, Johnson earned nods in the latter two categories with We Grew Up On, and received further nods for both Album Of The Year and Contemporary Country Album Of The Year (both for Raised Like That), Vocal Collaboration Of The Year (for Some Things Never Change, a joint effort with Zac & George), and Male Artist Of The Year.

Collins, too, is up for all four of the lattermost awards – his album-based nods coming at the hand of Any Less Anymore, and his Vocal Collaboration Of The Year nomination being for the Wolfe Brothers-assisted Runnin’ The Country – with Runnin’ The Country also up for Single Of The Year, and Raise Me up for Song Of The Year.

As for The Wolfe Brothers’ other four nominations, they’re also up for Group Or Duo Of The Year, Contemporary Album Of The Year and the catch-all Album Of The Year (both for Livin' The Dream), and Song Of The Year (for Here’s To The Ones).

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

Some of the other key nominees include the trio of artists up for Male Artist Of The Year alongside Johnston and Collins – Andrew Swift, Brad Cox and Casey Barnes – as well as Female Artist Of The Year nominees Ashleigh Dallas, Fanny Lumsden, Kaylee Bell, Max Jackson and Melanie Dyer, and the remaining two acts up for Group Or Duo Of The Year, The Pleasures and Zac & George.

As per tradition, next year’s Golden Guitar Awards will be presented at the Tamworth Country Music Festival, with the ceremony itself going down on Saturday January 27. Head here to purchase tickets, and see the full list of nominees for yourself.

In a press statement, Sean Hanley (Vice President of Sales, Marketing and Franchise Operations at Toyota Australia, the Golden Guitars’ presenting partner) said of next year’s event: “The Toyota Golden Guitar Awards showcases the very best in country music and we’re looking forward to seeing who takes home the awards in January. We wish all nominees the best of luck for this much anticipated, highlighted event.”