VIC Music Awards Announces Massive 2022 Nominations

27 October 2022 | 9:30 am | Staff Writer

Georgia State Line and The Weeping Willows are among the nominees.

(Image: Supplied)

More Georgia State Line More Georgia State Line

Having announced its return for 2022 earlier in the year, Music Victoria have now officially lifted the veil on a huge list of industry-voted nominees who will be vying for awards at this year's ceremony.

Hand selected over the past six months, the 2022 award entries were whittled down by a team of more than 200 acclaimed music judges, including radio announcers, writers, critics, podcasters and festival promoters from across the state of Victoria.

With the VIC Music awards continuing their longstanding tradition of championing the massively diverse and extremely talented pool of artists that call Victoria home, the 2022 awards are once again melting pot of musical genres with country, folk, blues and rock leading the charge.

Georgia State Line - the moniker for lauded Melbourne-based singer-songwriter, Georgia Delves leads the list of nominations for ‘Best Country Work’, alongside The Weeping Willows (fresh from being included in the first round of GRAMMY nominations for 2023), ARIA nominated songstress Sherry Rich, Michael Waugh and alt-country group Lachlan Bryan & The Wildes.

The Black Sorrows, fresh from a standout set at Savannah In The Round recently, have picked up a nomination for ‘Best Blues Work’, along with fellow Melbourne acts Checkerboard Lounge, Damon Smith, High Ace and The McNamarr Project.

Beloved artist Ruby Gill managed to pick up an industry nomination for ‘Best Folk Work’, going up against Above The Bit, Austral, Charm of Finches and Kerryn Fields.

In 2022, the Archie Roach Foundation Award for ‘Emerging Talent’, plays an especially important role in this year’s award ceremony following the sad passing of the Victorian icon. Nominees include a standout list of emerging First Nations talent from across the state, with nominations for Bumpy, Carissa Nyalu, Jess Hitchcock, MpathSoul - Monica Jasmine Karo and Pirritu.

The ever-important Arts Access Amplify Award will also return in 2022. Established to shine a light on and recognise the contributions made by D/deaf and disabled musicians in the past 12 months, the list of nominations includes Batts, Between Mirrors, Evelyn Ida Morris, Nat Bartsch and Saint Ergo.

Check out the full list of who’s been nominated by the industry below. Also make sure to head over to the official awards website to check out all the nominees and support their music.

 The Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent

Carissa Nyalu
Jess Hitchcock
MpathSoul (Monica Jasmine Karo)

Arts Access Amplify Award

Between Mirrors
Evelyn Ida Morris
Nat Bartsch
Saint Ergo

MAV Diasporas Award

Ajak Kwai
Black Jesus eXperience
Charles Maimarosia
Hand to Earth
Vanessa Estrada

Best Blues Work

Checkerboard Lounge
Damon Smith
High Ace
The Black Sorrows
The McNamarr Project

Best Folk Work

Above The Bit
Charm of Finches
Kerryn Fields
Ruby Gill

Best Jazz Work

Barney McAll
Claire Cross
Johannes Luebbers Dectet
Peter Knight
Sam Anning

 Best Pop Work

Confidence Man
June Jones
The Stroppies

Best Reggae and Dancehall Work

Jah Tung
Nicky Bomba

Best Rock/Punk Work

Dr Sure’s Unusual Practice
Pinch Points
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever

 Best Soul, Funk, RNB, Gospel Work

Kutcha Edwards
Lance Ferguson

Best Experimental or Avant-Garde Work

Cat Hope
Female Wizard
Nina Buchanan
Rama Parwata
The Amplified Elephants

Best Heavy Work


Best Electronic Work

Harvey Sutherland
Various Asses

Best Country Work

Georgia State Line
Lachlan Bryan and The Wildes
Michael Waugh
Sherry Rich
The Weeping Willows

Best Hip Hop Work

MAMMOTH. & Silentjay
Yung Shōgun

Best Producer

Alice Ivy
Gab Strum
Oscar Dawson
Stuart Mackenzie
Tim Shiel