Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

National Indigenous Music Awards Reveals Finalists & Performers

13 July 2022 | 9:00 am | Dan Cribb

“I’m thrilled to see such an extraordinary list of finalists this year and cannot wait for live performances from some of our most powerful First Nations musicians."

One of Australia’s most important and prestigious events, the National Indigenous Music Awards' fourteenth birthday is shaping up to be a massive one.

Organisers have today confirmed this year’s finalists and a talent-packed line-up of performers for the August 6 event at Darwin Amphitheatre.

More than 20 talented artists have been nominated as the finest in First Nations music, with BARKAA, Baker Boy and Thelma Plum leading today’s announcement, the latter of whom will perform during the event alongside King Stingray, Emma Donovan & The Putbacks, Birdz, Fred Leone, Yirrmal, and J-MILLA with more to be announced.

Malyangapa and Barkindji woman and fast-rising star BARKAA picks up four nominations, followed by Yolngu man Baker Boy with three, while previous winners The Kid LAROI, Jessica Mauboy, Electric Fields, King Stingray, Miiesha, Mo Ju, Emma Donovan & The Putbacks, Birdz, Dallas Woods, Archie Roach, Tasman Keith and Tilly Tjala Thomas make the list alongside first-time nominees Xavier Rudd, Jem Cassar-Daley, Lil Kootsie, Dobby and dameeeela.

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

“After a two year hiatus it’s very exciting to be bringing the NIMAs back to the Darwin Amphitheatre on Larrakia Country,” said NIMA Creative Director Ben Graetz.

“I’m thrilled to see such an extraordinary list of finalists this year and cannot wait for live performances from some of our most powerful First Nations musicians such as Thelma Plum and Emma Donovan & The Putbacks. This year is all about coming together and celebrating as one big community.”

Tickets for the NIMAs are on sale now here and you can check out the full list of nominees below.


Artist of the Year

The Kid Laroi

Jessica Mauboy

Baker Boy

Electric Fields

Thelma Plum

King Stingray

Song of the Year

Backseat of My Mind - Thelma Plum

Made For Silence - Miiesha

Milkumana - King Stingray

Sometime - Mo Ju

King Brown - Barkaa

Ball and Chain - Xavier Rudd

Album of the Year

Baker Boy – Gela

Emma Donovan & the Putbacks – Under These Streets

Jem Cassar-Daley – I Don’t Know Who to Call

Birdz – Legacy

Dallas Woods – Julie’s Boy

Archie Roach – My songs 1989 - 2021

Film Clip of the Year

Love Too Soon - Tasman Keith

King Brown - Barkaa

Blak Matriarchy - Barkaa

My Mind - Baker Boy

Automatic - Jessica Mauboy

New Talent of the Year


Jem Cassar-Daley

Lil Kootsie

Tilly Tjala Thomas



Community Clip of the Year

Koori Mob - Our Country, Our Life - Desert Pea Media

Gumbaynggirr Collective - Through the Smoke - Desert Pea Media

Doomadgee, QLD - Where We Wanna Be - Indigenous Outreach Project

Numbulwar, NT - Loud & Proud - Indigenous Outreach Project

Ballarat, VIC - Don’t Give Up On Yourself - Indigenous Outreach Project