Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Kacey Musgraves Officially Announces New Album 'Deeper Well'

9 February 2024 | 10:57 am | Mary Varvaris

The album is landing very soon – 'Deeper Well' will be released on Friday, 15 March, via Interscope/MCA Nashville.

Kacey Musgraves

Kacey Musgraves (Credit: Kelly Christine Sutton)

More Kacey Musgraves More Kacey Musgraves

Kacey Musgraves is back, officially announcing her fifth album, Deeper Well and sharing the title track today.

Deeper Well is everything you’d want in a Kacey Musgraves song – relatable storytelling, acoustic guitars, warm vocals and a modern pop sensibility while staying true to her country music roots – and is accompanied by a cinematic, picturesque music video. You can watch the clip below.

Fans won’t be waiting for more music, either, with the album landing very soon – Deeper Well will be released on Friday, 15 March, via Interscope/MCA Nashville. You can find the tracklist below.

Musgraves recorded most of the album at the renowned Electric Lady Studios with longtime collaborators Daniel Tashian and Ian Fitchuk, an experience inspired by the rich musical history and lush energy of New York City’s Greenwich Village.

She explained, “I was seeking some different environmental energy, and Electric Lady has the best mojo. Great ghosts.”

On her empowering new single, Musgraves added, “Sometimes you reach a crossroads. Winds change direction. What you once felt drawn to doesn’t hold the same allure. You get blown off course but eventually find your footing and forage for new inspiration, new insight and deeper love somewhere else.”

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

Deeper Well follows Musgraves’ observations of the world, with the album’s concepts described as:

Saturn returns, cardinals embody a dead friend, love is given and taken, streets rush by, belongings are packed and old chapters deserted, new love blooms, jade bracelets serve as talismans, deep lessons emerge, small details define everything, the woods are a refuge and New York City serves as the same gleaming beacon as Oz.

You can pre-order the album here.

Musgraves teased her new album earlier this week (and won another Grammy, this time for Best Country Duo/Group Performance with Zach Bryan for I Remember Everything) with a series of concept-related images and a Grammys commercial. Deeper Well comes after her fourth album, star-crossed, was released in September 2021.

Inspired by Musgraves’ divorce from fellow musician Ruston Kelly, the 15-song collection, structured as a modern-day tragedy in three acts, tells a highly personal journey of heartache and healing. Star-crossed followed Musgraves’ 2018 Grammy Award-winning album (Album of the Year, Best Country Album), Golden Hour.

Kacey Musgraves – Deeper Well track listing:

1. Cardinal

2. Deeper Well

3. Too Good To Be True

4. Moving Out

5. Giver / Taker

6. Sway

7. Dinner With Friends

8. Heart Of The Woods

9. Jade Green

10. The Architect

11. Lonely Millionaire

12. Heaven Is

13. Anime Eyes

14. Nothing To Be Scared Of