Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Taylor Swift announces Fearless (Taylor’s Version) will include six brand new songs

16 February 2021 | 2:02 pm | Mallory Arbour

Taylor Swift ’s album Fearless will be the first to be released in its re-recorded version, and will include six never before released songs from the vault.

More Taylor Swift More Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift’s breakthrough full-length album will be the first to be released in its re-recorded version. Titled Fearless (Taylor’s Version) the album will include six never before released songs from the vault, bringing the total track listing to 26. The updated lead single, Love Story (Taylor’s Version) was unveiled on February 11.

Swift wrote on her social media, “I’ve decided I want you to have the whole story, see the entire vivid picture, and let you into the entire dreamscape that is my Fearless album. That’s why I’ve chosen to include 6 never before released songs on my version of this album. Written when I was between the ages of 16 and 18, these were the ones it killed me to leave behind.”

Though Taylor Swift didn’t officially announce a release date for the re-recorded album. Just like her hidden messages in her lyric notes as well as her music videos, her lengthy post features a huge Easter egg that fans were quick to catch. Capitalisations in her note spell out ‘April 9th’. And what does nine plus four equal? Her lucky number 13.

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

Fearless was Swift's first number one album, spending 11 non-consecutive weeks at No. 1. It featured the singles Love Story, You Belong With Me, White Horse, Fifteen and its title track, and won Album of the Year at the Grammys, the Country Music Association Awards, and the Academy of Country Music Awards.

Swift says, "Fearless was an album full of magic and curiosity, the bless and devastation of youth. It was the diary of the adventures and explorations of a teenage girl who was learning tiny lessons with every new crack in the facade of the fairy-tale ending she’d been shown in the movies."

She adds, "When I think back on the Fearless album and all that you turned it into, a completely involuntary smile creeps across my face. This was the musical era in which so many inside jokes were created between us, so many hugs exchanged and hands touched, so many unbreakable bonds formed ... it was a real honour to get to be a teenager alongside you, and for those of you I've come to know more recently than 2008, I am ecstatic that I’ll get to experience a bit of that feeling with you in the very feature future."

Swift first announced her intention to re-record her first six albums – released between 2006 and 2017 – in 2019 in an attempt to own the masters to her original music amid her ongoing battle with Scooter Braun. She began re-recording her back catalogue last November.

In 2020, Swift shocked fans with her release of Folklore and its sister album Evermore. The albums feature collaborations with Bon Iver, Aaron Dessner and Jack Antonoff, and both sold more than a million copies in its first week worldwide. The single no body no crime featuring HAIM currently sits at #32 on the Countrytown Music Network Hot 50 chart.

Keep up to date with Taylor Swift via her Facebook page here.

For more breaking news from CountryTown, check out here.

Image: via Facebook