Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Hudson Rose, Tim Hicks, Lily Grace & More: This Week’s Best New Music

7 July 2023 | 1:28 pm | Mallory Arbour

Each week we track down the best new music and curate it into our ‘Hot Country Hits’ playlist for all our readers to enjoy. Today, we've selected our top picks of the week to celebrate the songs that stood out in the crowd.

Hudson Rose

Hudson Rose (Image: Supplied)

More Hudson Rose More Hudson Rose

Hudson Rose – The Rules Of Breaking Up 

With her clever melodies and catchy lyrics, Hudson Rose takes listeners on an unforgettable journey through the unspoken guidelines of navigating life after a breakup.

Exploring the complexities of love, loss, and moving on, Rules of Breaking Up is wrapped in an infectious melody that will have listeners singing on repeat in the shower and car. Rose effortlessly blends traditional country elements with a contemporary twist, creating a fresh and dynamic sound that appeals to a wide audience.

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

Tim Hicks – Yee To The Haw 

Tim Hicks has dropped the rowdy, summer anthem, Yee To The Haw from his Campfire Troubadour Vol. II album. It’s a catchy and fun ’90s vibe country song with a modern twist.

“I wrote this with Jeff Coplan, Bruce Wallace, and Phil Barton on one of our now infamous “wildcard nights” in Nashville, way back in 2019,” Hicks said. “Honestly, I forgot about it, and so did the rest of us! That is, until Jeff Coplan demoed it out and sent it over. I smiled so hard when I heard it, I couldn’t not put it out! Hell to the yeah! Hope you dig.”

Lily Grace – Bet On Us 

Lily Grace knows all too well the unwavering belief you can have in a relationship, even when others are betting against you, and it’s inspired the upbeat new single Bet On Us.

Grace said, “Bet On Us is about believing in something when no-one else does! It’s about betting on a relationship when everybody is betting against it. Whether they tell you you’re too young, you ‘aren’t a good fit’ or if they just don’t like the guy… if you’ve EVER been told your relationship isn’t going to work out, this song is for you!”

Luke O’Shea and Ashleigh Dallas – Next Best Thing

The title track to Luke O’Shea’s forthcoming album, Next Best Thing, sees Luke teaming up yet again with his multiple Golden Guitar winning musical mate, Ashleigh Dallas.

Inspired from the passing of songstress Nanci Griffith, O’Shea was exploring a sweet, melancholy melody found in a new open-tuning of the guitar when an impromptu telephone conversation with Dallas left him with the striking words ‘next best thing’.

Hurricane Fall – Hoedown 

Newcastle-based five piece band, Hurricane Fall have been in Melbourne recently recording with Msquared Productions’ duo Michael Paynter and Michael Delorenzis working on new songs. As well as a preview of a sweet ballad lead co-singer Jesse Vee wrote for his wife, Hurricane Fall have released the catchy, rocking banger, Hoedown.

Hurricane Fall said on social media, “Our brand new single Hoedown has just landed, and we couldn’t be more excited! Get it into your ear holes and we will see you at our next hoedown!”

Kameron Marlowe and Erin Kirby – I Can Lie (The Truth Is) 

Kameron Marlowe and Erin Kirby release a duet version of I Can Lie (The Truth Is). Marlowe’s socials were flooded with comments of Kirby’s username after fans discovered a video of Kirby dueting the original version of the song on TikTok. The original video has over 848K views and 123K likes. Marlowe later ended up surprising her to record a duet version of the song.

Marlowe said on social media, “Y’all made this happen and this song wouldn’t be true without her. I can’t wait to see how Erin takes off from here, she’s the real deal.”

Fanny Lumsden – Ugly Flowers 

Following making her UK debut alongside her band, the Prawn Stars, at Glastonbury Festival, Fanny Lumsden has released Ugly Flowers, from her fourth studio album, Hey Dawn.

Lumsden said, “Ugly Flowers is a call to the stories we were told and those we told ourselves and how they change and warp over time. We were built on these memories, regardless of how unglamourous they seemed in the moment… Families grow, change, people die, people are born, but the ugly flowers live on… passing down our secrets to the next generation.”

Vince Gill & Paul Franklin – Danny Boy

Danny Boy is the second track to be released from the upcoming album Sweet Memories: The Music of Ray Price & The Cherokee Cowboys, the latest project from Vince Gill and Paul Franklin.

Gill said, “It’s the one song on this whole collection that I would have been most sceptical about because it is so iconic. Paul and I decided that it could be incredibly beautiful if done the right way, for example if it was treated like Ray’s version of Night Life, so we decided to make the steel guitar predominant like it is in that particular song.”