Taylor Swift Releases Highly Anticipated New Album ‘Midnights’ And Bonus '3am Edition'

21 October 2022 | 6:52 pm | Dan Cribb

"Life can be dark, starry, cloudy, terrifying, electrifying, hot, cold, romantic or lonely. Just like 'Midnights'.”

(Pic via Twitter)

More Taylor Swift More Taylor Swift

The wait is over: Taylor Swift has finally unveiled Midnights, her much-hyped 10th studio album.

Following the story of 13 sleepless nights that the US megastar has had throughout her life, leading to self-discovery and reclamation, Midnights was revealed back in August during a surprise appearance at the VMAs.

Swift’s latest offering saw her partner with Jack Antonoff once more, with the singer today noting that, “This is our first album we’ve done with just the two of us as main collaborators.”

Midnights also features Lana Del Rey, Zoe Kravitz and more alongside Swift's partner, actor Joe Alwyn, who is credited for co-writing on Sweet Nothing, after previously collaborating on folklore and evermore.

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

The first new album from Swift in almost two years, Midnights was always going to be a big deal, and the singer has made sure that release week is huge, sharing the “Midnights Manifest” on the eve of its release, highlighting a slew of activities around the album up until next Friday.

Part of that is a series of videos to accompany the songs on Midnights, featuring Laura Dern, Haim, Dita Von Teese and more, with the first, Anti-Hero, set to drop later tonight. 

Speaking with The Hollywood Reporter about the clips, Swift said: "I love storytelling, I love songwriting, I love writing videos, I love directing them... we wanted to challenge ourselves to do different things this time around. I’m really proud of what we made and I really hope you like them.”

Swift has shared teasers for each:

Upon the album's release today, Swift said: “Midnights is a collage of intensity, highs and lows and ebbs and flows. Life can be dark, starry, cloudy, terrifying, electrifying, hot, cold, romantic or lonely. Just like Midnights.”

Overnight, Taylor Swift released a surprise seven bonus tracks to Midnights, dubbing the deluxe version the "3am" edition.

Taking to social media, Swift described Midnights as a "complete concept album" but said that she enjoys sharing the creative process with fans. 

"Surprise! I think of Midnights as a complete concept album, with those 13 songs forming a full picture of the intensities of that mystifying, mad hour," she wrote. Continuing, "However! There were other songs we wrote on our journey to find that magic 13. I'm calling them 3am tracks. Lately I've been loving the feeling of sharing more of our creative process with you, like we do with From The Vault tracks. So it's 3am and I'm giving them to you now."

The seven bonus tracks are:

14. The Great War

15. Bigger Than The Whole Sky

16. Paris

17. High Infidelity

18. Glitch

19. Would've, Could've, Should've

20. Dear Reader

With the additional tracks, the duration of Midnights (3am Edition) is 69 minutes - adding 25 minutes to the original runtime.

You can stream Midnights and Midnights (3am Edition) below.