Sunny Sweeney’s New Album ‘Married Alone’ Slated For September Release

4 July 2022 | 10:40 am | Staff Writer

'Married Alone' will be released on September 23.

More Sunny Sweeney More Sunny Sweeney

Sunny Sweeney has announced her new album, Married Alone, will be released on September 23. Produced by Paul Cauthen and Beau Beauford of The Texas Gentlemen, it features co-writes with Lori McKenna, Channing Wilson, Kendell Marvel, Brennen Leigh, and others.

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

The US singer-songwriter co-wrote all the songs on the album except for the title track.

“My jaw hit the floor when I heard that song, because I had just gone through my second divorce, which is also cliché of a country singer,” Sweeney says. “I was still pretty raw about my divorce, but also very candid and trying to find levity in the situation. You have to be able to laugh at yourself at some point and not let it just totally get you down.”

Recorded at Modern Electric Sound Recorders in Dallas, Sweeney was able to convince Vince Gill to sing with her on Married Alone – one of two guest appearances on the album. The second is her producer Paul Cauthen on A Song Can’t Fix Everything, which is the album’s lead single.

“I was stepping into the elevator at my hotel as we were leaving Chicago after a great run, and this title popped into my head,” Sweeney says about the song that she co-wrote with Lori McKenna. “It’s about just trying to find those three minutes of happiness you get relating to something and taking yourself out of your everyday life. Letting yourself slip away, it can feel like it’s going to be okay, even if, ultimately, it may not be.”

Married Alone follows her 2020 live album, Recorded Live at the Machine Shop Recording Studio. She previously released four studio albums – Heartbreaker’s Hall Of Fame (2007), Concrete (2011), Provoked (2014) and Trophy (2017) – as well as a self-titled EP in 2011.

In 2013, Sweeney was nominated for ‘Top New Female Artist’ at the ACM Awards.

Married Alone Track List:

1. Tie Me Up (Sunny Sweeney/Buddy Owens/Galen Griffin)
2. Easy As Hello (Sunny Sweeney/Lori McKenna/Heather Morgan)
3. Married Alone ft. Vince Gill (Hannah Blaylock/Josh Morningstar/Autumn McEntire)
4. Someday You’ll Call My Name (Sunny Sweeney/Brennen Leigh)
5. How’d I End Up Lonely Again (Sunny Sweeney/Channing Wilson/Josh Morningstar)
6. A Song Can’t Fix Everything ft. Paul Cauthen (Sunny Sweeney/Lori McKenna)
7. Want You To Miss Me (Sunny Sweeney/Caitlyn Smith)
8. Wasting One On You (Sunny Sweeney/Buddy Owens/Monty Holmes)
9. Fool Like Me (Waylon Payne/Kendell Marvel)
10. All I Don’t Need (Sunny Sweeney/Lori McKenna)
11. Leaving Is My Middle Name (Sunny Sweeney/ Buddy Owens/Galen Griffin/Scotch Taylor)
 12. Still Here (Sunny Sweeney/Lori McKenna)


Keep up to date with Sunny Sweeney on her Facebook page here.