Little Big Town’s New Album, ‘Mr. Sun’, Slated For September Release

21 July 2022 | 12:15 pm | Mallory Arbour

'Mr. Sun' is set for release on September 16.

Little Big Town

Little Big Town (Image: Supplied)

More Little Big Town More Little Big Town

Little Big Town have announced their highly anticipated tenth studio album, Mr. Sun, is set for release on September 16.

The 16-track project features the previously released tracks Hell Yeah and their current single, All Summer, which dropped earlier this month. It’ll also include the new song, Rich Man, written by LBT’s Jimi Westbrook, which is available from tomorrow, July 22.

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

According to the press release, the genesis of Mr. Sun was unlike any of their previous albums. Due to the pandemic, the band – consisting of members Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Schlapman, Phillip Sweet and Westbrook – found themselves off the road and apart for the first time ever throughout their 20-year journey. 

The resilience and creativity born from those months unearthed a deep appreciation for both one another, and the privilege of making music – ultimately inspiring the self-produced Mr. Sun, which packs both the sparkle of storytelling and the heat of truth-telling in a way only LBT can.

Sweet says, "This album has a special feel to it. We have collectively been through an unprecedented period making this album. Life is short; we are here to live it with the ones around us, loving them and ourselves the best we can. All the while, thankful for another turn around the sun."

Mr. Sun marks the band’s latest full-length album since Nightfall, which debuted atop Billboard’s Top Country Albums chart upon its January 2020 release and was nominated for ‘Best Country Album’ at the 63rd Annual GRAMMY Awards. The record included critically-acclaimed and GRAMMY-nominated The Daughters, Over Drinking and Wine, Beer, Whiskey – the latter of which has garnered more than 362 million global streams to date.

Fairchild adds, "Mr. Sun is intentionally an emotional record that holds hands well with our last album, Nightfall. Mr. Sun is focused on better days ahead, the value of friendships and family. It touches on heartbreak and letting go, but it's full of sunshine and joy."

Mr. Sun Tracklist:

1. "All Summer" (Karen Fairchild, Sara Buxton, Madi Diaz, Ashley Ray, Savana Santos, Alysa Vanderheym)
2. "Better Love" (Karen Fairchild, Jimi Westbrook, Tofer Brown, Audra Mae)
 3. "Hell Yeah" (Phillip Sweet, Westbrook, Corey Crowder, Tyler Hubbard)
4. "Mr. Sun" (Sara Buxton, Daniel Tashian)
5. "Three Whiskeys and the Truth" (Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Schlapman, Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna, Liz Rose)
6. "One More Song" (Tofer Brown, Sean McConnell)
7. "Heaven Had a Dance Floor" (Karen Fairchild, Phillip Sweet, Jimi Westbrook, Cary Barlowe, Jesse Frasure)
8. "Gold" (Karen Fairchild, Jimi Westbrook, Trent Dabbs, Luke Dick)
9. "Rich Man" (Jimi Westbrook)
10. "God Fearing Gypsies" (Karen Fairchild, Nicolette Hayford, Ashley Ray)
11. "Different Without You" (Corey Crowder, Jared Mullins, Steven Lee Olsen, Jordan Schmidt)
12. "Whiskey Colored Eyes" (Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Schlapman, Phillip Sweet, Jimi Westbrook, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne)
13. "Song Back" (Karen Fairchild, Jimi Westbrook, Todd Clark, Sara Haze, Jason Saenz)
14. "Something Strong" (Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Schlapman, Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna, Liz Rose)
15. "Last Day on Earth" (Karen Fairchild, Trent Dabbs, Tommy English)
 16. "Friends of Mine" (Karen Fairchild, Kimberly Schlapman, Phillip Sweet, Jimi Westbrook, Foy Vance)


To keep up to date with Little Big Town, follow them on Facebook here.