LeAnn Rimes Releases Powerful Anthem ‘the wild’ Featuring Mickey Guyton and Sheila E.

22 July 2022 | 11:45 am | Mallory Arbour

'god’s work' is due for release on September 16

LeAnn Rimes

LeAnn Rimes (Image: Supplied/Norman Seeff)

More LeAnn Rimes More LeAnn Rimes

GRAMMY Award-winning singer, songwriter, actress, and author LeAnn Rimes has released new track, the wild, from her upcoming album, god’s work, due for release on September 16.

Written and produced by Rimes and long-time collaborator Darrell Brown, the empowering anthem features GRAMMY-nominated country music artist Mickey Guyton (who also features on the title track) and world-renowned queen of percussion and musician Sheila E.

the wild kicks off with unmistakable vocals from Rimes and Guyton singing a mournful chant that is ignited with Sheila E.’s dynamic percussion and drums. The commanding sounds lay the groundwork for the powerful lyrics, which speak to the pushback and ridicule women face when voicing their opinion and speaking out.

“My new album as a whole looks at the duality of life, the light and the dark, and I believe that is most apparent in the wild,” Rimes said. “The song is about the patriarchal world that has shaped us as a society, especially women… the silencing and fracturing of ourselves in order to fit into the pretty and polite societal box, throughout generations. It’s a battle cry to unite women to reclaim every part of our truest nature and no longer allow our wild, our ‘unholy’ to be ignored, shamed, and rejected. It is full of rage… the kind of rage that calls us home. Rage, that ignites change and says, ‘I have been here all along, waiting for you to return to your wholeness.’ And I couldn’t be more excited to have such strong, kind-hearted, ‘wild’ women featured alongside me. Mickey Guyton and Sheila E. helped make this track come alive!”

the wild is the fifth song to be showcased off of Rimes’ upcoming album, god’s work. The full track listing for the album includes a mix of ethereal, rhythmic, and grounded songs that take each listener on their own unique journey, exploring the duality of life and recognising the light and the dark in new ways.

For god’s work, Rimes intentionally chose to go with an all-lowercase album title and track listing, explaining “If we’re arguing about why the ‘g’ is or isn’t capitalised, we’re missing the whole point. It’s so important for us to focus on the messages, rather than the nuances.”

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

god’s work tracklist:

  1. spaceship
  2. the only (Ft. Ziggy Marley, Ledisi, and Ben Harper)
  3. awakening
  4. how much a heart can hold
  5. throw my arms around the world
  6. the wild (Ft. Sheila E. and Mickey Guyton)
  7. innocent
  8. god’s work (Ft. Robert Randolph, Mickey Guyton, and Tata Vega)
  9. something better’s coming
  10. imagined with love
  11. there will be a better day
  12. i do (Duet by Aloe Blacc and LeAnn Rimes)


Keep up to date with everything LeAnn Rimes and follow her on Facebook here.