Country Music Drama ‘Monarch’ Starring Trace Adkins Cancelled After One Season

14 December 2022 | 12:40 pm | Staff Writer

'Monarch' has a 4.3/10 rating on IMDB.

(Image: via IMDB)

More Trace Adkins More Trace Adkins

Monarch has been cancelled after one season. The country music drama series starred Trace Adkins and Susan Sarandon.

Joshua Sasse, Anna Friel, Beth Ditto and Meagan Holder co-starred and real country music stars, including Shania Twain, Martina McBride, Little Big Town and Tanya Tucker made appearances.

Fox network said in a statement, “We gratefully thank and appreciate the entire cast and crew for their dedication to Monarch.”

Monarch told the story of a multi-generational family dynasty in the country music scene. 

The official synopsis reads: "In Monarch, the Romans are passionate and fiercely talented, but while their name is synonymous with honesty, the very foundation of this family's success is a lie. When dangerous truths bubble to the surface, the Romans’ reign as country royalty is put in jeopardy. Nicky Roman, the brilliant and fierce heir to the crown, already battling an industry and world stacked against her, will stop at nothing to protect her family's legacy. It’s finally her turn. But is it too late?” 

"We are the first family of country music, now and forever," Sarandon says in the trailer. "I never wanted to just be a star. I want to create a dynasty, and I have. But the strength to do whatever it takes to protect the family, well, we have to work on that."

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

Ahead of the premiere, Adkins recalled reviewing the script for the first time.

“I looked at it and I went, oh my God. Yeah, I can do this,” he shared.

In less than two weeks, Adkins found himself on set.

“When I found out who some of the people were that I was gonna be working with, I knew that this had to be something that FOX was committed to and this wasn’t going to be just some little throwaway thing.” the country singer added, “I get to sing and pretty much act as myself. Yeah, okay, I can do that. I’m glad I did.”

The 11-episode series debuted on September 11, 2022.