Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

star-crossed by Kacey Musgraves – Song of the Day

25 August 2021 | 11:34 am | Mallory Arbour

Our Song of the Day is star-crossed by Grammy-winning singer-songwriter, Kacey Musgraves, the first single from her upcoming fifth album of the same name.

More Kacey Musgraves More Kacey Musgraves

Our Song of the Day is star-crossed by six-time Grammy-winning singer-songwriter, Kacey Musgraves. The track is the first single from her upcoming fourth studio album of the same name, due for release on September 10.

Inspired by Musgraves’ divorce from fellow musician Ruston Kelly, the 15-song collection is structured as a modern-day tragedy in three acts, tells an extremely personal journey of heartache and healing. The album was recorded in Nashville, Tennessee earlier this year in just under three weeks, reuniting Musgraves with writers and co-producers Ian Fitchuk and Daniel Tashian.

The release of star-crossed will be accompanied by a 50-minute film of the same name, which will debut on Paramont+ in Australia on Friday, September 10. Shot by Academy Award-nominated cinematographer, Matthew Libatique in Los Angeles, and directed by Bardia Zeinali, the film stars Musgraves in the leading role and features cameos from the likes of Emmy Award-winner Eugene Levy, Victoria Pedretti (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, You), singer-songwriter Princess Nokia, Symone (RuPaul’s Drag Race winner) and comedian Megan Stalter.

“We wanted it to feel cinematic and epic without compromising the heart and the emotion,” Zeinali says, “to feel fantastical and heightened and tell her story through the lens of art and fashion.”

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

star-crossed will follow-up her critically acclaimed 2018 album, Golden Hour. Exploring elements of disco, electro pop, electronica, pop, country and yacht rock (or adult-oriented rock), the album’s expansive sound substantially broadened her appeal across genres — resulting, in 2019, in Musgraves being the first woman to play both, the Coachella and Stagecoach festivals on successive weekends.

The album debuted at #4 on the US Billboard 200, and won all four of its nominated categories at the 61st Grammy Awards, including ‘Album of the Year’ and ‘Best Country Album’. The album’s first singles also won awards – Butterflies for ‘Best Country Solo Performance’ and Space Cowboy for ‘Best Country Song’. Golden Hour also won ‘Album of the Year’ at both the ACM and CMA Awards, and is ranked at #270 on Rolling Stone’s ‘500 Greatest Albums of All Time’ list.

In a February interview with Rolling Stone, Musgraves dropped a few hints about the new album, star-crossed, saying, “… looking at the list of songs, we have some that venture into, like, a Bill Withers land. We’ve got that synth stuff that we always loved. And we’ve got some Eagles or America territory. There’s a little bit of a dance vibe.”

star-crossed tracklist:

01. star-crossed
02. good wife
03. cherry blossom
04. simple times
05. if this was a movie
06. justified
07. angel
08. breadwinner
09. camera roll
10. easier said
11. hookup scene
12. keep lookin’ up
13. what doesn’t kill me
14. there is a light
15. gracias a la vida

Keep up to date with Kacey Musgraves on her Facebook page here.

For more Song Of The Days from CountryTown, check out here.

Image: Supplied