Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Spare Parts by Felicity Urquhart and Josh Cunningham – Video Premiere

9 April 2021 | 9:34 am | Mallory Arbour

Felicity Urquhart and Josh Cunningham have released the first single, Spare Parts from their forthcoming debut album - and we have your first look!

Felicity Urquhart and Josh Cunningham have released the first single from their forthcoming debut album, The Song Club - and we have your first executive look at the music video! Spare Parts is an energetic, warm, good old-fashioned love song. When two broken down rust buckets on the scrapyard of life and love combine their spare parts, suddenly it’s an open road ahead and the wheels are rolling again.

In January 2020, Felicity and Josh were invited to join Song Club – a creative collective that tasked members with writing a song a week. This challenge gave the pair a lifeline to creativity and community as well as an abundance of new material, enough in fact to make a whole album.

Josh says, “To harness our collective passion for story and song and get to tell our own story in the most personal way through the most personal medium we know is truly inspiring.”

He adds, “I can’t think of a time when I’ve felt such a need for the healing force of music. The world seems to be groaning under the burden of upheaval on many fronts and while music doesn’t make hard realities disappear, it certainly softens them and provides an opportunity for folks to celebrate. In the face of all that’s wrong in the world, music will always be right.”

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

The Song Club features eleven songs that speak of new beginnings, new journeys, new horizons, and a sense of freedom and flight. The pair consider it an honour to be creating music together.

Felicity says, “Even though a destination may be unclear, being deeply rooted in the important fundamentals and having a true travelling companion gives a sense of confidence that you’re on the right path - that everything will be ok.”

Felicity has long been one of the best-loved and most decorated singer-songwriters in Australian song. The multi-award winner has released seven studio albums and two EPs to date, and has sold-out countless headlining shows and made numerous capacity festival appearances. Her last studio album, Frozen Rabbit was nominated for a 2019 ARIA Award for ‘Best Country Album’ (her second following in 2009 for Landing Lights) and won five Golden Guitar Awards that same year, bringing her overall total to 13. Since 2015, Felicity has also been part of the award-winning trio Bennett Bowtell Urquhart alongside Kevin Bennett and Lyn Bowtell.

Josh found his love of music as a young teenager. He dabbled in ukulele and later took up guitar, where he soon began gigging in local cover bands. He formed folk rock band The Waifs in Albany, Western Australia with two sisters in 1992. With 10 albums released to date, the trio have extensively toured Australia and the world, touring with acts as diverse as Bob Dylan, Keith Urban and Kasey Chambers, among others. Also, outside of The Waifs, Josh has written songs for Sara Storer and was Missy Higgins’ guitarist during the first three years of her career.

Felicity and Josh will be touring The Song Club through VIC, NSW, and QLD April to November 2021.

Watch the video below!

Keep up to date with everything Felicity Urquhart and follow her on Facebook here.
Keep up to date with everything Josh Cunningham and follow him on Facebook here.

For more premieres on CountryTown, check out here.

Image: Supplied