Willie Nelson Announces 75th Album 'The Border'

15 March 2024 | 4:02 pm | Mary Varvaris

Willie Nelson co-wrote four of the songs alongside longtime collaborator Buddy Cannon.

Willie Nelson

Willie Nelson (Source: Supplied)

More Willie Nelson More Willie Nelson

Who said you should slow down as you grow older? Any such advice hasn’t reached Willie Nelson, who, at nearly 91 years old, will release his 75th album, The Border, later this year.

On Friday, 31 May, Nelson will release The Border, a 10-track album featuring four songs co-written and composed by Nelson and longtime collaborator Buddy Cannon. The other six songs were written by Shawn Camp, Mike Reid, and Bobby Tomberlin.

To celebrate today’s announcement, Nelson has released the first single—the title track—a cover of a 2019 Rodney Crowell song. Check it out below.

You can find the tracklist below, and pre-order the album here.

The new album follows a string of successful albums released by Nelson, including 2022’s A Beautiful Time and the 2023 records I Don’t Know A Thing About Love (a tribute album to Harlan Howard) and Bluegrass.

A Beautiful Time won the Grammy Award for Country Album of the Year last year, while the Crowell and Chris Stapleton-penned single, I’ll Love You Till The Day I Die, was nominated for Best Country Song.

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

Last April, Nelson led a two-day birthday concert celebration that hosted Keith Richards, Snoop Dogg, George Strait, Chris Stapleton, Miranda Lambert, Dave Matthews, Neil Young, The Lumineers, Sheryl Crow, Jack Johnson, Gary Clark Jr., Billy Strings, and more. Long Story Short: Willie Nelson 90, the concert film, was then shown in independent Australian cinemas.

In November, Nelson was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame alongside Kate BushMissy Elliott, the late George Michael, Rage Against The Machine, Sheryl Crow and The Spinners.

"Honoured to be announced as a 2023 [Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame] inductee! Among great company," Nelson tweeted when his induction was announced.

Willie Nelson – The Border Tracklisting

1. The Border
2. Once Upon A Yesterday
3. What If I’m Out Of My Mind
4. I Wrote This Song For You
5. Kiss Me When You’re Through
6. Many A Long And Lonesome Highway
7. Hank’s Guitar
8. Made In Texas
9. Nobody Knows Me Like You
10. How Much Does It Cost