Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Morgan Evans Drops 'Rip Rip Woodchip' With John Williamson

23 March 2024 | 11:38 am | Mary Varvaris

The track features on Morgan Evans' live album, 'Live At The Sydney Opera House'.

Morgan Evans and John Williamson at the Sydney Opera House

Morgan Evans and John Williamson at the Sydney Opera House (Credit: Chady Awad)

More Morgan Evans More Morgan Evans

Morgan Evans has shared his duet with John Williamson, Rip Rip Woodchip, from his forthcoming Live At The Sydney Opera House album.

Performing Rip Rip Woodchip, a track Williamson released in 1989, was a full circle moment for Evans, as the first song he ever learned to play was a John Williamson song.

“The first song I ever learned to sing and play was a John Williamson song, and the moment he joined us on stage felt like the fullest circle I could imagine,” Evans commented in a press release.

Williamson added, “It was fun, but nerve-wracking, to sing Rip Rip Woodchip with Morgan at the Sydney Opera House. It brought back memories of my own concerts there with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra to celebrate my 40th year, back in 2010!”

You can listen to the duo’s live rendition of Rip Rip Woodchip below. Live At The Sydney Opera House will be released via Warner Music Australia on Friday, 12 April. You can pre-order/pre-save your copy of the album here.

Recorded over two sold-out evenings at the iconic Sydney building, fans will get to relive the Life Upside Down EP and listen to the impressive 16-track live album. During the concert, Evans was accompanied by Williamson and fellow special guest Kita Alexander (for her song Date Night).

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

In a statement, Evans said about Live At The Sydney Opera House, “It was an absolute honour, and a joy, to play the shows at the Sydney Opera House. Playing that place is probably a momentous occasion for anyone, but for an Aussie, it's the one.

“There was a vibration in the room those nights, like we knew, like everyone knew it was going to be special, and in that beautiful, cavernous concert hall, we sang and played country music the only way we know how!”

Check out the Live At The Sydney Opera House tracklist below.

Morgan Evans - Live At The Sydney Opera House Tracklisting:

1. Young Again

2. Country Outta My Girl

3. Kiss Somebody

4. Waltzing Matilda (Interlude)

5. Love Is Real

6. I Can't Make You Love Me (Interlude)

7. Over For You

8. Say What You Want

9. Date Night feat. Kita Alexander

10. Rip Rip Woodchip feat. John Williamson

11. Dedications Interlude

12. Things That We Drink To

13. Pete And Brownie Go To Town (Interlude)

14. Hey Little Mama

15. Day Drunk

16. I Still Call Australia Home (Interlude)

17. On My Own Again