Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Mitchell Tenpenny To Release EP Of Songs Written During ‘Dark Time’

10 March 2022 | 2:56 pm | Mallory Arbour

Mitchell Tenpenny says, "I wanted to wait until I was in a good place with my life, and I feel I’m strong enough to share them now."

More Mitchell Tenpenny More Mitchell Tenpenny

Mitchell Tenpenny will release a new project, called The Low Light Sessions, on April 15th. The first track off the EP, titled Horseshoes and Hand Grenades, is out now. It’s our Song of the Day!

Tenpenny wrote or co-wrote all eight songs on The Low Light Sessions. Many of the songs were penned nearly four years ago, with the exception of the devotional, The Way You Are, written for his now-fiancé, Meghan Patrick.

He says, “I’ve held onto these songs as I didn’t want them to get overshadowed in some of the other recent projects. I wanted to wait until I was in a good place with my life, and I feel I’m strong enough to share them now. I was a different person then and it feels good to look back and know I’ve come through that dark time.”

THE LOW LIGHT SESSIONS is dropping on 4/15!! Get Horseshoes and Hand Grenades THIS Friday. Pre-save/add now…. Tag a friend & let’s go y’all, CHEERS!!! #TheLowLightSessions

Posted by Mitchell Tenpenny on Wednesday, March 2, 2022

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

Tenpenny has consistently rolled out new music for his fans over the last two years, most recently with a new version of his song Bucket List featuring Christian artist and former American Idol finalist, Danny Gokey. His current single, Truth About You (off last year’s Midtown Diaries EP)earned him the largest streaming debut of his career, now garnering more than 70 million total on-demand streams. 

Born and raised in Nashville, Tenpenny began his career writing songs for other artists. He released his debut album and single of the same name, Black Crow in 2015. He followed that up with his 2017 EP, Linden Ave as well as his self-titled EP and second album, Telling All My Secrets in 2018, which peaked at number five on Billboard’s Top Country Albums chart. He also has two holiday releases – Neon Christmas (2020) and Naughty List (2021).

Last year, Tenpenny teamed with Chris Young for At The End Of A Bar (read more here) and RaeLynn on Get That All The Time off her second studio album, Baytown. He was also nominated for ‘New Male Artist of the Year’ at the ACM Awards and ‘Breakthrough Video’ (Drunk Me) at the CMT Music Awards, both in 2019. Tenpenny recently performed with Young at the 2022 ACM Awards.

The Low Light Sessions Track List:
1. Horseshoes and Hand Grenades (Tenpenny, Dallas Wilson)
2. Dear Jesus (Tenpenny, Andy Albert, Thomas Archer)
3. Mama Raised the Hell Out of Me (Tenpenny, Jaren Johnston, Zach Kale)
4. My Next Sad Song (Tenpenny, Joe Fox, Brandon Paddock, Geoff Warburton)
5. I Know Something She Don’t Know (Tenpenny, Dallas Wilson)
6. I Can’t Get Another You (Tenpenny, Brent Anderson, Thomas Archer)
7. Don’t Make Me Choose (Tenpenny, Dallas Wilson, Claire Douglas)
 8.  The Way You Are (Tenpenny)


Keep up to date with everything Mitchell Tenpenny and follow him on Facebook here.