Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

McAlister Kemp Release New Single And Announce Long-Awaited New Album

17 June 2022 | 12:44 pm | Staff Writer

'We Roll On' is due for release on August 19

McAlister Kemp

McAlister Kemp (Image: Supplied)

More McAlister Kemp More McAlister Kemp

McAlister Kemp have announced their long-awaited fourth studio album, We Roll On, will be released on August 19. To celebrate the exciting news, today, they drop Paid For Drinking Beer.

Recorded between Nashville and Sydney, Paid For Drinking Beer is the follow up to their single After The Breakdown. That single was the first new release for the powerhouse duo in over 7 years after a hiatus. The two songs feature on the band’s forthcoming new album.

Drew McAlister says, “We are so excited to finally have an album on its way! After so long between releases it feels pretty cool to finally have something to put out there into the universe. The writing side of things was super awesome as well, we hadn’t written together for some years, and we just fell back into it like nothing had changed. We can’t wait to take it on the road have some fun!”

Troy Kemp concurs, “After a 7-year hiatus we are extremely excited to be releasing our fourth official studio album We Roll On. Living on opposite sides of the world, we wrote 9 of the 10 songs on online Zoom sessions during the covid pandemic and borrowed one from Nashville to round out the album. We didn’t want to reinvent the wheel, we just stuck to that classic MK sound and those distinct themes that worked so well for us in days gone by. We Roll On is a collection of 10 songs, from upbeat party vibes to mid-tempo singalongs, down to the heartfelt ballad or two.”

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

McAlister Kemp remain one of the most successful Australian country acts of the last decade. From the immediate, breakout success in 2010 (which saw them take home the award for ‘New Talent of the Year’ at the 2011 Golden Guitars) through to disbanding in 2015, the duo earned their stripes as one of the highest selling and most loved touring acts in country music.

Their three highly acclaimed albums – All Kinds of Tough (2010), ARIA Award-nominated Country Proud (2012) and Harder to Tame (2014) – produced number one video and airplay hits including Country Proud, Hell Yeah, It Don’t Buy You Love, Harder to Tame, Fight Me and All Kinds of Tough. They have toured extensively, playing to big crowds on large festival stages, and opening for the likes of Adam Brand and international acts Alan Jackson and Big & Rich.

Both members have also had lucrative solo careers. McAlister released two solo albums (2015’s Black Sky and 2017’s Coming Your Way) and was one-fifth of Adam Brand and The Outlaws, the super group who took home the 2017 ARIA award for ‘Highest Selling Australian Artist’.

Kemp released his debut solo album Against The Grain in 2015, which features the #1 singles How We Roll Around Here and Small Town Girl. He picked up a Rob Potts ‘New Talent Of The Year’ Award at the 2018 CMC Awards for his duo project Tailgate Drive with Damien Baguley from The Viper Creek Band and his duet of Hung Up On You with songstress Jayne Denham was nominated for ‘Vocal Collaboration Of The Year’ at the 2019 Golden Guitar Awards. Kemp has released a handful of singles too, including Before Summer Starts To Fall with Katrina Burgoyne, Rainstorm with Denham and Will Day’s Bro’s alongside Col Finley.

McAlister Kemp will hit the road for their first tour in seven years this August and September on the We Roll On tour, taking to stages from QLD, through NSW, and into Victoria, playing their much-loved hits plus a stack of brand-new music!


Keep up to date with McAlister Kemp on their Facebook page here.