Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Kane Brown Leads 2022 CMT Music Awards Nominations

17 March 2022 | 4:48 pm | Mallory Arbour

Originally scheduled to air on April 3, the change in date for the Grammy Awards led the CMT Awards being pushed back to the later date in April.

More Kane Brown More Kane Brown

The 2022 CMT Music Awards are right around the corner, and the nominees are in!

Kane Brown leads in nominations with four, including ‘Video of the Year’, ‘Male Video of the Year’ and ‘CMT Performance of the Year’. With three nominations each, Kelsea Ballerini, Mickey Guyton, and first-time nominees BRELAND and Cody Johnson follow.

Twelve videos are nominated for – the big award – ‘Video of The Year’, including Kacey Musgravesjustified, Luke Combs' Forever After All and Miranda Lambert's If I Was A Cowboy.

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

"Expect the most unforgettable CMT Music Awards yet, jam-packed with the most star-power, world premiere performances and one-of-a-kind collaborations from in and around Music City," executive producers Margaret Comeaux, John Hamlin and Leslie Fram said in a statement.

First-time nominee, Priscilla Block tweeted, “Up for my first ever @CMT award!!! AND YOU CAN VOTE!!!! This absolutely blows my mind… I grew up watching CMT videos every day… the fact that I’m nominated blows my mind!”

Kelsea Ballerini and Marvel Cinematic Universe actor Anthony Mackie will co-host the two-hour award show on April 11 when it is filmed live from Nashville, Tennessee.

Ballerini said in a press release, "I'm thrilled to be returning as host at this year's CMT Awards with Anthony Mackie! This award show is always a special one, as it revolves around the fans and celebrates their favourite artists... It's going to be a big one and I can't wait!"

You can vote for your favourite musicians now at

2022 CMT Awards nominations:

Video of The Year

Top nominees from the first round of voting will be announced on April 4. Final nominees from the second round of voting will be announced on show day, April 11. Final voting will be determined via social media and announced as the final category during the live show.

  • Brandi Carlile – “Right On Time”
  • Cody Johnson – “‘Til You Can’t”
  • Cole Swindell & Lainey Wilson – “Never Say Never”
  • Jason Aldean & Carrie Underwood – “If I Didn’t Love You”
  • Kacey Musgraves – “justified”
  • Kane Brown – “One Mississippi”
  • Kelsea Ballerini feat. Kenny Chesney – “half of my hometown”
  • Luke Combs – “Forever After All”
  • Maren Morris – “Circles Around This Town”
  • Mickey Guyton – “Remember Her Name”
  • Miranda Lambert – “If I Was A Cowboy”
  • Taylor Swift feat. Chris Stapleton – “I Bet You Think About Me (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)”

Female Video of The Year

  • Brandi Carlile – “Right On Time”
  • Gabby Barrett – “Footprints On The Moon”
  • Kacey Musgraves – “justified”
  • Maren Morris – “Circles Around This Town”
  • Mickey Guyton – “Remember Her Name”
  • Miranda Lambert – “If I Was A Cowboy”
  • Tenille Arts – “Back Then, Right Now”

Male Video of The Year

  • Cody Johnson – “’Til You Can’t”
  • Eric Church – “Heart On Fire”
  • Kane Brown – “One Mississippi”
  • Luke Bryan – “Waves”
  • Luke Combs – “Forever After All”
  • Thomas Rhett – “Country Again”
  • Walker Hayes – “Fancy Like”

Group/Duo Video of The Year

  • Brothers Osborne – “I’m Not For Everyone”
  • Dan + Shay – “Steal My Love”
  • Maddie & Tae – “Woman You Got”
  • Old Dominion – “I Was On a Boat That Day”
  • Parmalee – “Take My Name”
  • Zac Brown Band – “Same Boat”

Breakthrough Video of The Year, Presented by SONIC®

  • BRELAND – “Cross Country”
  • Caitlyn Smith feat. Old Dominion – “I Can’t”
  • Elvie Shane – “My Boy”
  • Parker McCollum – “To Be Loved By You”
  • Priscilla Block – “Just About Over You”
  • Tenille Arts – “Back Then, Right Now”

Collaborative Video of The Year

  • Carly Pearce & Ashley McBryde – “Never Wanted To Be That Girl”
  • Dustin Lynch feat. MacKenzie Porter – “Thinking ’Bout You”
  • Nelly & Florida Georgia Line – “Lil Bit”
  • Jason Aldean & Carrie Underwood – “If I Didn’t Love You”
  • Jimmie Allen & Brad Paisley – “Freedom Was A Highway”
  • Jordan Davis feat. Luke Bryan – “Buy Dirt”
  •  Kelsea Ballerini feat. Kenny Chesney – “half of my hometown”

CMT Performance of The Year

  • Brothers Osborne – “Muskrat Greene/Dead Man’s Curve Medley (from CMT Campfire Sessions)”
  • George Strait – “Is Anybody Goin’ to San Antone (from CMT GIANTS: Charley Pride)”
  • H.E.R. feat. Chris Stapleton – “Hold On (from 2021 CMT Music Awards)”
  • Kane Brown – “Three Wooden Crosses (from 2021 CMT Artists of the Year)”
  • Kelsea Ballerini feat. Paul Klein of LANY – “I Quit Drinking (from 2021 CMT Music Awards)”
  • Mickey Guyton feat. Gladys Knight & BRELAND – “Friendship Train (from 2021 CMT Music Awards)”
  • Nelly feat. Kane Brown, Blanco Brown & BRELAND – “Ride Wit Me (from CMT Crossroads: Nelly & Friends)”

CMT Digital-First Performance of The Year

  • Brittney Spencer “Sober & Skinny” (from CMT Campfire Sessions)
  • Carly Pearce – “Dear Miss Loretta” (from CMT :60 Songs)
  • Cody Johnson – “Dear Rodeo” (from CMT Campfire Sessions)
  • Jon Pardi “On The Other Hand / Forever and Ever, Amen” (in honor of 2021 CMT Artist of a Lifetime Randy Travis)
  • Josh Turner LIVE (from CMT KickBack)
  •  Lainey Wilson – “Things A Man Oughta Know” (from the CMT Studio)