Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Jennifer Nettles plans Broadway-themed album, ‘Always Like New’

14 April 2021 | 1:03 pm | Mallory Arbour

Jennifer Nettles has announced she will debut a new album called Always Like New. The new project sees some songs from American musicals re-imagined.

More Jennifer Nettles More Jennifer Nettles

Country songstress Jennifer Nettles has announced she will debut a new album called Always Like New on June 25. The new project sees some of the best songs from classic American musicals re-imagined - and I'm living for it!

Working with Tony-winning musical orchestrator, Alex Lacamoire, the album will feature songs from My Fair Lady, Oklahoma!, Hamilton, Annie and others, and features a collaboration with fellow singer-songwriter Brandi Carlile on a song from The Bridges of Madison County. The first track, Sit Down, You’re Rockin’ The Boat from Guys and Dolls was dropped following the announcement.

“It was so hard to choose what songs made the cut for this album. There are just so many amazing compositions to choose among the American Songbook that is musical theatre,” she says. “In the end, a recording is a musical collection documenting a moment. But there is a lifetime of moments for an artist. An album happens to be a single snapshot captured, formalised, where the artist’s creative drive sits still long enough to be externalised.”

She adds, “These songs were chosen because in this moment they presented themselves ready to be rediscovered, with fresh arrangements that allow them to be heard in a new way, all the while honouring their origin. There are endless more to choose from as creation is endless. It is the stillness for capturing them that is rare.”

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

Nettles is a talented solo artist – with three solo albums to her name – as well as the lead vocalist of the duo Sugarland, alongside Kristian Bush. The band exploded onto the music scene in 2004 and has enjoyed worldwide sales of over 22 million to-date, plus eight number one singles and numerous awards including GRAMMYs, AMAs, ACM Awards and more. As a songwriter, Nettles won five ASCAP Awards, as well as the 2008 GRAMMY, ACM, and CMA Awards for the platinum-selling hit Stay.

She made her acting debut in Dolly Parton’s Coat of Many Colors, and reprised her role in the sequel Dolly Parton’s Christmas of Many Colors: Circle of Love. Nettle’s also has acting credits in Underground, Harriet, and The Righteous Gemstones. She previously starred as Roxie Hart in Chicago in New York in 2015, and joined Bon Jovi on the country version of their 2006 number one single, Who Says You Can’t Go Home.

Full Track Listing:

1. “Wouldn’t It Be Loverly” from My Fair Lady
2. “Sit Down, You’re Rockin’ the Boat” from Guys and Dolls
3.  “Wait for It” from Hamilton
4. “Almost Like Being in Love” from Brigadoon
5. “It All Fades Away” featuring Brandi Carlile from The Bridges of Madison County
6. “There’s a Sucker Born Ev’ry Minute” from Barnum
7. “Oh, What a Beautiful Mornin’” from Oklahoma!
8. “Anyone Can Whistle” from Anyone Can Whistle
9. “You Will Be Found” from Dear Evan Hansen
10. “Tomorrow” from Annie

Keep up to date with everything Jennifer Nettles and follow her on Facebook here.

For more breaking news from CountryTown, check out here.

Image: via Facebook