HARDY Announces Second Album, ‘The Mockingbird & The Crow’

1 December 2022 | 11:16 am | Staff Writer

‘The Mockingbird & The Crow’ will drop on January 20

More Hardy More Hardy

Singer-songwriter HARDY, whose full name is Michael Wilson Hardyhas announced his upcoming second album, The Mockingbird & The Crow, will drop on January 20.

"The Mockingbird & the Crow is, in my opinion, the best thing I've made so far," the Mississippi-native says. "I had a lot of time to get in the weeds making this record with some of my favourite people in Nashville, and it truly captures every part of who I am as an artist. I'm honoured that I get to share it with you next year; can't wait to hear what you think about it."

The album will blend country and rock genres.

HARDY noted in an Instagram video that he had long toyed with the idea of comparing mockingbirds pecking at crows flying in the air to examining the dichotomy between country and rock. On the one hand, as a songwriter, he frequently feels like he has to mimic trends; plus, because he's a Mississippian (the state bird is the mockingbird), he feels like the latter. But, on the other hand, in the case of the former, he flies his own path in rock.

HARDY co-wrote every song on the 17-track album, which includes his current single, wait in the truck featuring Lainey Wilson, as well as another previously released song called Jack. Hard rocker, Jeremy McKinnon, best known as the frontman for A Day to Remember, joins HARDY for Radio Song, while Morgan Wallen lends his vocals on a track called Red.

To celebrate his forthcoming sophomore release, HARDY has released three new tracks – Truck Bed, Here Lies Country Music and the title track, The Mockingbird & The Crow.

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

The Mockingbird & the Crow Tracklist:

1. "Beer" (Michael Hardy, Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson, Hunter Phelps)
2. "Red" feat. Morgan Wallen (Michael Hardy, Rhett Akins, Ben Hayslip, Jacob Rice)
3. "wait in the truck" feat. Lainey Wilson (Michael Hardy, Renee Blair, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt)
4. "Drink One for Me" (Michael Hardy, David Garcia, Hunter Phelps)
5. "I in Country" (Michael Hardy, Smith Ahnquist, Nick Donley, Jake Mitchell, Hunter Phelps)
6. "Screen" (Michael Hardy, Jessie Jo Dillon, Matt Dragstrem, Hunter Phelps)
7. "Happy" (Michael Hardy)
8. "Here Lies Country Music" (Michael Hardy, Cole Taylor, Brett Tyler, Will Weatherly)
9. "The Mockingbird & the Crow" (Michael Hardy, Jordan Schmidt, Brett Tyler)
10. "Sold Out" (Michael Hardy, David Garcia, Hunter Phelps)
11. "Jack" (Michael Hardy, David Garcia, Hillary Lindsey)
12. "Truck Bed" (Michael Hardy, Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson, Hunter Phelps)
13. ".30-06" (Michael Hardy, Cameron Montgomery, Hunter Phelps)
14. "I Ain't in the Country No More" (Michael Hardy, David Garcia, Hillary Lindsey)
15. "Radio Song" feat. Jeremy McKinnon (Michael Hardy, Zach Abend, Nick Donley, Jeremy McKinnon, Cody Quistad)
16. "Kill Sh!t Till I Die" (Michael Hardy, David Garcia, Hunter Phelps)
 17. "The Redneck Song" (Michael Hardy, Andy Albert, Nick Donley)


Keep up to date with HARDY on his Facebook page here.