Every Rock Star You Know Is On Dolly Parton's 'Rock Star' Album

10 May 2023 | 9:47 am | Mary Varvaris

Starring Judas Priest’s Rob Halford, Duran Duran’s Simon Le Bon, Lizzo playing the flute on Stairway To Heaven, Nikki Sixx and many more.

(Pic by Vijat Mohindra)

More Dolly Parton More Dolly Parton

Dolly Parton has revealed the release date and unveiled the stunning guest list on her upcoming Rock Star album, which is coming on Friday, 17 November, through her own Butterfly Records through Big Machine Group.

Boasting a roster of special guests including Judas Priest’s Rob Halford, Duran Duran’s Simon Le Bon, Lizzo playing the flute on Stairway To Heaven, Nikki Sixx and many more, Rock Star is shaping up to live up to its name.

“I am very honored [sic] and privileged to have worked with some of the greatest iconic singers and musicians of all time and to be able to sing all the iconic songs throughout the album was a joy beyond measure,” Parton wrote on her website. “I hope everybody enjoys the album as much as I’ve enjoyed putting it together!”

Tomorrow, Parton will drop the first single from the album, World On Fire.

Following her 2022 induction into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame, Parton appeared on The View and shared some of the names appearing on her upcoming, aptly titled Rock Star album.

"If I’m going to be in the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame, I better do something to earn it," she said. "So I’m doing a rock ‘n’ roll album, and I’m having a lot of the rock stars that I met that night be on the album with me."

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

Parton unveiled some big names who will appear on the album: Sir Paul McCartney, P!nk, John Fogerty, Stevie Nicks, and Brandi Carlile.

Last month, ex-Rob Zombie and current Mötley Crüe touring guitarist John 5 revealed that he would feature on Parton’s new album.

“I’m so honored [sic] that I got the opportunity to play guitar on one of the songs on the upcoming Dolly Parton album,” John 5 wrote on Twitter. “I’ve been listening to Dolly ever since I can remember. Words cannot describe how exciting this is.”

Check out the full tracklist below and pre-order the album here.

Rockstar Track Listing

1. Rockstar (special guest Richie Sambora)
 2. World on Fire
 3. Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)
 4. Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)
 5. Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
 6. Long As I Can See The Light (feat. John Fogerty)
 7. Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)
 8. I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
 9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
 10. Purple Rain
 11. Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)
 12. I Hate Myself For Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
 13. Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)
 14. Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)
 15. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
 16. Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)
 17. Heart Of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)
 18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (feat. Elton John)
 19. Tried To Rock And Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
 20. Stairway To Heaven (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
 21. We Are The Champions
 22. Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
 23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)
 24. What’s Up? (feat. Linda Perry)
 25. You’re No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
 26. Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
 27. Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)
 28. I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
 29. Let It Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
30. Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)