CMT Sets All-Star Lynyrd Skynyrd Tribute For 2023 CMT Music Awards

31 March 2023 | 10:23 am | Staff Writer

The 2023 CMT Music Awards takes place on April 2.

(Image: Supplied/Chris Douglas)

More Cody Johnson More Cody Johnson

A slew of country music artists will pay tribute to legendary American rock band Lynyrd Skynyrd at the 2023 CMT Music Awards, as co-hosted by Kane Brown and Kelsea Ballerini from Austin, Texas’ Moody Center on Sunday, April 2.

Billy Gibbons, Chuck Leavell, Cody Johnson, Paul Rodgers, Slash and Warren Haynes are set to honour the band and original founding member, guitarist Gary Rossington, with LeAnn Rimes and Wynonna Judd joining as “The Honkettes.” The celebration comes 50 years after the launch of the band’s debut album, following the recent passing of final original founding member. Rossington died at his home in Milton, Georgia on March 5, 2023, at age 71.

Johnson and Rodgers will lead vocals with Gibbons, Slash and Haynes on electric guitar for a one-time-only performance of a pair of timeless Lynyrd Skynyrd hits. Veteran Nashville studio and touring musicians Ethan Pilzer and Rich Redmond complete the line-up on bass and drums.

Dale Krantz Rossington, band member and wife of Rossington, is set to attend the once-in-a-lifetime musical celebration alongside fellow Lynyrd Skynyrd band members Johnny Van Zant and Rickey Medlock.

With over 28 million records sold in the U.S. since their debut album “Pronounced 'Lĕh-'nérd 'Skin-'nérd” in 1973, and a sound as iconic as the American culture it celebrates, Rock and Roll Hall of Famers Lynyrd Skynyrd were nominated for their 2016 CMT Crossroads pairing with Brantley Gilbert for the ultimate celebration of Southern rock in the ‘Performance of the Year’ category.

The CMT Music Awards will also see performances from Alanis Morissette and Ingrid Andress, Lainey Wilson, Madeline Edwards and Morgan Wade, Blake Shelton, Carly Pearce, Carrie Underwood, Cody Johnson, Gwen Stefani and Carly Pearce, Jelly Roll, Kane Brown and Katelyn Brown, Keith Urban, Kelsea Ballerini, The Black Crowes and Darius Rucker, Tyler Hubbard, and Wynonna Judd and Ashley McBryde.

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

Avery Anna, Chapel Hart, Jackson Dean, Lily Rose, Megan Moroney and Nate Smith will also perform from the Ram Trucks Side Stage.

Lainey Wilson is the leading nominee with four nods, including ‘Video Of The Year’, ‘Female Video Of The Year’, ‘Collaborative Video Of The Year’ and ‘CMT Performance Of The Year’.

Cody Johnston, Kane Brown and Jelly Roll follow, each with three nominations.

For more information and news, visit