Carrie Underwood and Dan + Shay Team For 'Dear Evan Hansen'

1 September 2021 | 11:01 am | Mallory Arbour

Carrie Underwood and Dan + Shay are joining forces on the track Only Us from the upcoming Dear Evan Hansen movie soundtrack.

More Carrie Underwood More Carrie Underwood

Carrie Underwood and Dan + Shay are joining forces on the track Only Us, from the upcoming Dear Evan Hansen movie soundtrack.

Dan + Shay first teased a collaboration on their Instagram account on August 30, when they posted a random photo of them with Underwood. The duo’s Dan Smyers added “just wait til y’all hear the vocals” and Underwood commented with a wink emoji. The duo later posted a video of an orchestra in a recording studio and tagged Underwood in it.

The next day, Underwood shared, "I'm so excited to share that I teamed up with @danandshay to record a very special song for the #DearEvanHansenMovie Original Motion Picture Soundtrack! Only Us is coming your way this Friday!"

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

The full soundtrack also includes songs by Tori Kelly, Finneas, SZA, Sam Smith and Summer Walker, and the Dear Evan Hansen cast including Ben Platt, Julianne Moore, Amy Adams, Kaitlyn Dever and others.

The movie Dear Evan Hansen is a film adaptation of the award winning Broadway musical. After premiering in 2015, the musical earned six Tony Awards in 2017. Only Us can be found in Act 2 and is performed by Evan Hansen and Zoe Murphy, played by Platt and Dever in the film adaptation.

The story follows Evan Hansen, a socially anxious teen who writes therapeutic letters to himself. One of these letters is stolen by a fellow classmate, Connor, who later commits suicide. Connor’s parents think their son wrote the letter himself and thus Evan inserts himself into Connor’s past, despite having no place there.

Dear Evan Hansen is scheduled to release in Australian cinemas on September 23, with the soundtrack dropping the same day. Only Us by Carrie Underwood and Dan + Shay is out September 3.

This will be the first time Dan + Shay has collaborated with Underwood. The award-winning duo has previously collaborated with artists such as Kelly Clarkson, RaeLynn and Justin Bieber

Underwood has collaborated with several artists throughout her career, including Miranda Lambert, Jason Aldean, NEEDTOBREATHE, Keith Urban, Brad Paisley and John Legend.  

Dear Evan Hansen (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) tracklist:

1. Ben Platt and Dear Evan Hansen Choir — “Waving Through A Window”
2. Ben Platt — “For Forever”
3. Colton Ryan, Ben Platt, and Nik Dodani — “Sincerely Me”
4. Kaitlyn Dever, Danny Pino, and Amy Adams — “Requiem”
5. Ben Platt and Kaitlyn Dever — “If I Could Tell Her”
6. Amandla Stenberg — “The Anonymous Ones”
7. Ben Platt, Amandla Stenberg, Liz Kate, DeMarius Copes, Isaac Powell, Hadiya Eshe, and Dear Evan Hansen Choir — “You Will Be Found”
8. Kaitlyn Dever and Ben Platt — “Only Us”
9. Ben Platt — “Words Fail”
10. Julianne Moore — “So Big / So Small”
11. Colton Ryan — “A Little Closer”
12. Sam Smith — “You Will Be Found” Feat. Summer Walker
13. SZA — “The Anonymous Ones”
14. Carrie Underwood and Dan + Shay — “Only Us”
15. Finneas — “A Little Closer”
16. Tori Kelly — “Waving Through A Window”

Keep up to date with everything Carrie Underwood and follow her on Facebook here.
Keep up to date with everything Dan + Shay and follow them on Facebook here.

For more breaking news from CountryTown, check out here.

Image: Supplied