Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Carly Pearce returns with new project after tumultuous 12 months

9 February 2021 | 11:40 am | Mallory Arbour

Carly Pearce will release a new seven-song project called 29 on February 19. Pearce co-wrote every song on the collaborative project.

More Carly Pearce More Carly Pearce

Carly Pearce will release a new seven-song project called 29 on February 19.

Pearce co-wrote every song on the project, collaborating with writer/producers Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne, who helped create her current single Next Girl, and other writers including Emily Shackelton, Jordan Reynolds, Sarah Buxton, and Old Dominion’s Matthew Ramsey.

In 2020, Pearce endured her highly-publicised divorce from fellow country singer Michael Ray (after only eight months of marriage), as well as the emotional loss of her long-time producer and friend, Michael James Ryan (known professionally as busbee) who died from a rare form of brain cancer in 2019. The two first collaborated on her breakthrough debut single, Every Little Thing, which has since been certified platinum.

She says, “I feel lighter reflecting on the last year and pouring my soul into this music and wanted to share it in hopes that others will take from the songs what they need. With streaming and social media, we were able to record music for the sole purpose of letting my fans know where my heart is without any expectations. That’s a kind of immediacy that makes making records really exciting. I can’t wait to share 29.”

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

Last year, Pearce scored her second number one hit with the Lee Brice collaboration I Hope You’re Happy Now, which earned her a CMA Song of the Year nomination and her first CMA win for Musical Event of the Year. Her last full release was the 13-track self-titled album, which came out on Valentine’s Day last year.

The track-listing for 29:

1. Next Girl (Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne)
2. Should’ve Known Better (Carly Pearce, Jordan Reynolds, Emily Shackelton)
3. 29 (Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne)
4. Liability (Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne)
5. Messy (Carly Pearce, Sarah Buxton, Jimmy Robbins)
6. Show Me Around (Carly Pearce, Emily Shackelton, Ben West)
7. Day One (Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Matthew Ramsey)

Keep up to date with Carly Pearce on her Facebook page here.

For more breaking news from CountryTown, check out here.

Image: Supplied