Angus Gill Drops Compilation Album 'The Songwriter… So Far' Ahead Of Move To Nashville

23 February 2024 | 11:04 am | Mary Varvaris

'The Songwriter… So Far' features a revamped version of Angus Gill's song 'Roadworks' and a new collaboration with Mondo Rock’s Eric McCusker.

Angus Gill

Angus Gill (Image: Supplied)

More Angus Gill More Angus Gill

Australian country music star Angus Gill is moving to Nashville next week, but before he goes, he’s shared a little gift: his first-ever compilation album, The Songwriter… So Far.

The compilation is a 20-track album pulling from his five ARIA chart-topping full-length releases, which have garnered him 13 #1 tracks and 11 Top 10 hit singles on Australian Country Radio and an ARIA Awards nomination.

In addition to going through his already-existing catalogue, The Songwriter… So Far also features a revamped version of his song Roadworks and a new collaboration with Mondo Rock’s Eric McCusker on Can You Imagine.

The Songwriter… So Far is out today via Rivershack Records/MGM. You can listen to the album here and find the tracklist below.

In a press release, Gill said about the compilation album, “I’m incredibly excited for this release. The last few years have been wild for me, juggling songwriting and production work with touring my new album projects. Winning my first Golden Guitar Award was a huge highlight and a full circle moment.”

Next week, Gill will relocate from the small New South Wales town of Wauchope to Nashville, Tennessee. He’s called the move “bittersweet” but looks forward to the “exciting new chapter”. He commented:

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

It’s a bittersweet moment for me, as I grew up in Wauchope and have lived here with my family for most of my life. I cut my teeth singing bush ballads at the Timbertown Heritage Theme Park for four hours every Saturday, for $25 and a meat pie. At the same time, I am really looking forward to an exciting new chapter in Nashville. I’ve got many friends over there and I can’t wait to see them again in person and to keep challenging myself doing what I do, albeit in a different place, in a different hemisphere.

In August, Gill joined Countrytown to unpack his latest album, Departures & Arrivals. We declared the release “some of his strongest material to date”; the LP is the follow-up to The Scrapbook (which arrived in September 2021) with a rousing palette of country, blues and folk flavours.

Angus Gill – The Songwriter… So Far Tracklisting

1. Roadworks [2023 Version] (Angus Gill/Matt Scullion)

2. Can You Imagine [feat. Eric McCusker] (Angus Gill/Eric McCusker)

3. Little Green Man (Angus Gill/Billy Miller)

4. Listen To The Country [feat. Kevin Bennett] (Angus Gill/Kevin Bennett)

5. The New Old Me [feat. Steve Earle] (Angus Gill/Allan Caswell)

6. Start Up The Old Dance Again (Angus Gill)

7. Cornerstone (Angus Gill/Matt Scullion)

8. The Scrapbook (Angus Gill/Bill Whyte)

9. Sweet Sister Jasmine (Angus Gill/Thomm Jutz)

10. Starin’ Out The Back Of A Car [feat. Kevin Bennett & Amos Morris] (Angus Gill/Kevin Bennett)

11. Whittling Away [feat. Jim Lauderdale] (Angus Gill/Jim Lauderdale)

12. The Apron (Angus Gill/Vickiree Melouney)

13. In The Cards (Angus Gill/Jerry Salley)

14. Always On The Run (Angus Gill/Thomm Jutz)

15. Departure & Arrival (Angus Gill)

16. Still Missing (Angus Gill/Thomm Jutz)

17. Waiting For The Boss [feat. Anne Kirkpatrick] (Angus Gill/Alan Mackey/Mary O’Brien)

18. Origins (Angus Gill/Lance Carpenter)

19. Forget Me Not (Angus Gill/Bill DiLuigi/Kirsti Manna)

20. Don’t Get Your Tinsel In A Tangle [feat. Melinda Schneider] (Angus Gill/Bill DiLuigi/Kirsti Manna)