Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

2022 CMT Music Awards: The Complete Winners List

12 April 2022 | 4:21 pm | Mallory Arbour

Jason Aldean, Carrie Underwood and Cody Johnson were all big winners on the night.

The winners of the 2022 CMT Music Awards have been announced!

Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood were big winners, awarded two trophies for ‘Video of the Year’ and ‘Video Collaboration of the Year’ for their hit duet, If I Didn’t Love You. 

Aldean said, “Seventeen years in the game and this is the first time I ever won ‘Video of the Year’, so this is pretty amazing for me. I think Carrie and I hit [the scene] about the same time and the fact that you guys still care about us this many years into our careers to vote for us… means the world to me. This has been a great night, great song, and I’m pretty sure I picked the perfect partner for this song.” 

Maddie & Tae received the crown for ‘Group/Duo Video of the Year’ for their empowerment anthem, Woman You Got. ‘Female Video Of The Year’ went to Miranda Lambert’s If I Was A Cowboy while ‘Male Video of the Year’ went to Cody Johnson for ‘Til You Can’t. 

Johnson said, “My goal with this is to take what I do with my authentic brand of country music that I’ve spent my life developing and take it to people that may not have had the opportunity to hear it. The CMT Awards is an opportunity to be on national television and say, ’Hey, this cowboy hat is not fake. This belt buckle is not fake. This voice and this presentation, it’s not fake. I think hard work and perseverance are something we lack in society. That’s something that ’Til You Can’t personifies.”

Johnson also received the ‘CMT Digital-First Performance of the Year’ award for Dear Rodeo (from CMT Campfire Sessions). Plus Parker McCollum took home his first ever CMT Award for ‘Breakthrough Video of the Year’ for To Be Loved By You and ‘Trending Comeback Song of the Year’ went to Love Story by Taylor Swift. George Strait was also awarded ‘CMT Performance of the Year’ for Is Anybody Goin’ To San Antone (From CMT Giants: Charley Pride).

The awards night was not lacking in star-studded performances either. Keith Urban opened the show with a guitar-heavy performance of his latest single, Wild Hearts. Johnson, Priscilla Block, Kelsea Ballerini, Gabby Barrett, Kane Brown, Lambert, McCollum, Underwood, Carly Pearce, BRELAND, Caitlyn Smith, Jessie James Decker, The Judds, Old Dominion, Elvie Shane and Walker Hayes also performed. Kenny Chesney closed the show with Beer In Mexico. It marked the first time in seven years that Chesney had performed at the CMT Awards.

There were plenty of duets too! Maren Morris and Ryan Hurd delivered a romantic performance of I Can’t Love You Anymore; Aldean teamed with Bryan Adams to cover the classic ballad Heaven; Cole Swindell and Lainey Wilson performed their hit single Never Say Never; Thomas Rhett and Riley Green rocked out to Half Of Me; Mickey Guyton sang Colors with the Black Pumas; and Jimmie Allen joined Monica and Little Big Town for Pray

Join our community with our FREE weekly newsletter

The 2022 CMT Music Awards were held on Monday, April 11 in Nashville. The three-hour show was co-hosted by Kelsea Ballerini, actor Anthony Mackie and last-minute addition Kane Brown after Ballerini tested positive for COVID-19. 

Ballerini announced on social media the night (April 10) before that she would remain as co-host but participate remotely. Appearing on screen from home, Ballerini made constant costume changes, appearing in a new dress for each appearance and ending the night in her pyjamas. 

See the full list of winners below:


  • Cody Johnson - “‘Til You Can't”
  • Cole Swindell & Lainey Wilson - “Never Say Never”
  • **Jason Aldean & Carrie Underwood - “If I Didn't Love You” -- WINNER!
  • Kane Brown - “One Mississippi”
  • Kelsea Ballerini feat. Kenny Chesney - “half of my hometown”
  • Luke Combs - “Forever After All”


  • Brandi Carlile - “Right On Time”
  • Gabby Barrett - “Footprints On The Moon”
  • Kacey Musgraves - “justified”
  • Maren Morris - “Circles Around This Town”
  • Mickey Guyton - “Remember Her Name”
  • **Miranda Lambert - “If I Was A Cowboy” -- WINNER!
  • Tenille Arts - “Back Then, Right Now”


  • **Cody Johnson - “’Til You Can't” -- WINNER!
  • Eric Church - “Heart On Fire”
  • Kane Brown - “One Mississippi”
  • Luke Bryan - “Waves”
  • Luke Combs - “Forever After All”
  • Thomas Rhett - “Country Again”
  • Walker Hayes - “Fancy Like”


  • Brothers Osborne - “I'm Not For Everyone”
  • Dan + Shay - “Steal My Love”
  • **Maddie & Tae - “Woman You Got” -- WINNER!
  • Old Dominion - “I Was On a Boat That Day”
  • Parmalee - “Take My Name”
  • Zac Brown Band - “Same Boat”


  • BRELAND - “Cross Country”
  • Caitlyn Smith feat. Old Dominion - “I Can't”
  • Elvie Shane - “My Boy”
  • **Parker McCollum - “To Be Loved By You” -- WINNER!
  • Priscilla Block - “Just About Over You”
  • Tenille Arts - “Back Then, Right Now”


  • Carly Pearce & Ashley McBryde - “Never Wanted To Be That Girl”
  • Dustin Lynch feat. MacKenzie Porter - “Thinking 'Bout You”
  • Nelly & Florida Georgia Line - “Lil Bit”
  • **Jason Aldean & Carrie Underwood - “If I Didn't Love You” -- WINNER!
  • Jimmie Allen & Brad Paisley - “Freedom Was A Highway”
  • Jordan Davis feat. Luke Bryan - “Buy Dirt”
  • Kelsea Ballerini feat. Kenny Chesney - “half of my hometown”


  • Brothers Osborne - “Muskrat Greene/Dead Man's Curve Medley (from CMT Campfire Sessions)”
  • **George Strait - “Is Anybody Goin' to San Antone (from CMT GIANTS: Charley Pride)” -- WINNER!
  • H.E.R. feat. Chris Stapleton - “Hold On (from 2021 CMT Music Awards)”
  • Kane Brown - “Three Wooden Crosses (from 2021 CMT Artists of the Year)”
  • Kelsea Ballerini feat. Paul Klein of LANY - “I Quit Drinking (from 2021 CMT Music Awards)”
  • Mickey Guyton feat. Gladys Knight & BRELAND - “Friendship Train (from 2021 CMT Music Awards)”
  • Nelly feat. Kane Brown, Blanco Brown & BRELAND - “Ride Wit Me (from CMT Crossroads: Nelly & Friends)”


  • Brittney Spencer - “Sober & Skinny” (from CMT Campfire Sessions)
  • Carly Pearce - “Dear Miss Loretta” (from CMT :60 Songs)
  • **Cody Johnson - “Dear Rodeo” (from CMT Campfire Sessions) -- WINNER!
  • Jon Pardi - “On The Other Hand / Forever and Ever, Amen” (in honor of 2021 CMT Artist of a Lifetime Randy Travis)
  • Josh Turner LIVE (from CMT KickBack)
  • Lainey Wilson - “Things A Man Oughta Know” (from the CMT Studio) 


  • Alan Jackson - "Freight Train" 
  • Brooks & Dunn - "Neon Moon" 
  • Dolly Parton - "9 to 5" 
  • Reba McEntire - "I'm A Survivor" 
  • Sara Evans - "Suds In The Bucket" 
  • Shania Twain - "Man! I Feel Like A Woman!" 
  • **Taylor Swift - "Love Story" -- WINNER!